Car Insurance Specifics in Nevada
Auto insurance – All drivers in Nevada must purchase one from a licensed professional.
By law, Nevada drivers must purchase car insurance. Cheap Las Vegas Insurance helps you get the best of discounts and coverage you need.
Driver Education Credit – If you are 55 and older and if you successfully complete a driving course approved by the Nevada DMV, you are eligible for a premium discount for a three-year period. The insured must maintain a clean driving record in order to keep this price reduction.
Minimum Coverage - Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry minimum coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons on any one accident; and $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident. Liability insurance coverage protects you only if you are liable for an accident and pays for the injuries to others or damages to their property. It does not provide coverage for you, your passengers who are your resident relatives, or your property.
Self-insurance – Nevada permits self-insurance. To qualify for self-insurance DMV requires a minimum of 10 vehicles actively registered in Nevada under the name of the self-insurance applicant. Only certain types of securities are allowed to be deposited with the DMV. The amount of security is based on the number of vehicles registered.
Grace period - Nevada has no grace period. A one-day lapse in coverage will result in a registration suspension. Out-of-state insurance is considered a lapse. A car insurance specifics that should be kept in mind by all NV licensed motorists.
Marital status - Under Nevada law, domestic partners are treated as “married” for insurance rating purposes. Insurers’ statistics show that married persons tend to have lower claim levels than unmarried persons.
No-Fault Auto Insurance - Nevada is not a “no-fault” state. Injured motorists will get their medical bills paid out by the at-fault driver’s insurance company. If you are at fault for the accident, you won’t get anything from the other driver’s insurer. In this case, separate coverage is available but is not required by law - Medical Payments (Medpay). This pays for treating injuries to you and your passengers without regard to fault. Nevada law requires that your insurance company offer you at least $1,000 of this coverage.
SR-22 insurance – This is proof of financial responsibility that your insurance company will file with the DMV. It allows you to keep or reinstate your driving privileges after serious or repeated traffic-related offenses, such as DUIs or driving without insurance. If you are required to maintain an SR-22 filing as a condition of your reinstatement, in Nevada it must be maintained for three years from the date you reinstate your driver’s license. SR-22 is a part of the car insurance specifics in Nevada that all NV drivers should obey - if they need one.
If you need SR-22 Insurance, just call us at 725-777-3777 or send us your request.